Databases
Maps
The map collection concentrates on Southeast Asia but also includes almost the whole area from South to East Asia, including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, China, Korea, Australia, the Pacific islands, Japan, and surrounding regions. Dates of publication of the maps range from the pre-war period to recent aerial surveys. At present, the collection comprises nearly 40,000 sheets. Of historical value are topographical maps of South and East Asia prepared by the Land Survey Department of the defunct Japanese Imperial Army, scale 1:25,000 and 1:50,000. Also included in the collection are a small number of thematic maps on land use, geology, and vegetation of Southeast Asian countries. We provide the listing of our collection at our web site.
Satellite Images
Acquisitions of satellite images including Landsat MSS, Landsat TM, MOS, and JERS-1 started in 1978, and the present holding numbers approximately 3,500 scenes. The area covered includes all regions of Southeast Asia, the eastern half of the Indian subcontinent, the whole of Bangladesh, part of South China, and Japan. Scenes from two or more seasons are chosen wherever possible. The collection concentrated on black-and-white positive films (bands 4, 5, and 7) which have a scale of 1:1,000,000 at the beginning, then on color prints with a scale of 1: 250,000, and on digital data in recent years.
The utilization of satellite images has changed from the visual interpretation of macro-topography, land use, vegetation, and hydrological environment to digital analyses of a wide range of spatial information by incorporating results in the Geographical Information System (GIS). We provide a listing of our collection at our web site.
Southeast Asian Topographic Map Database
This database system accesses the image data on any defined points on the map. Map-searching from map index and meta-information is available. An information retrieval (on-line searching) Z39.50 standard is also used. This is subsidized by the Publication of Scientific Research Results 2004（Database).
Database of Comprehensive Urbanism of Hanoi, Vietnam
Database
The database “Database of Comprehensive Urbanism of Hanoi, Vietnam [HANOIDB]” is a comprehensive database concerning the studies on urbanization of Hanoi from the 19th to the 21st century. The database is composed of the map collection and its GIS data (1831-2005), village transition and cadastral maps, stone inscriptions, relics and its rubbed copies, documents related with dyke in the Red river delta, documents of vestiges and ruins, field survey notes, satellite images, geological materials, meteorological data, topographical data, and publications which were obtained through studies from 2005 to 2009. The number of materials in the database comprises totally 3618 files.
Photo Collection
The photo collection comprises pictures taken during various fieldwork trips by the Center for Southeast Asian Studies staff. More than 2000 pictures are available and they cover natural environment, agriculture, forests, fishery, politics, economy, culture, and history in Southeast Asia.
CSEAS Thai OPAC
CSEAS Library’s Thai bibliographic database is incorporated into “KULINE,” Kyoto University Libraries Catologue Research System.
Thai Database of Three Seals Law
Database
In the database of The Kotmai Tra Sam Duang, there are two versions in Kyoto University such as the Thammasat University version and the Royal Institute version. The database retrieval of the Thammasat University version has not been in service for a while. The Royal Institute version now can be retrieved from the CIAS Database Quick Link in the Center for Integrated Area Studies, Kyoto University.
The Kotmai Tra Sam Duang (hereafter abbreviated as KTSD) is a popular appellation given to a corpus of traditional laws of Thailand compiled in 1805 by the order of King Rama I of the reigning Chakri Dynasty. The importance of the KTSD lies in its being the virtual single source for those who wish to study the pre-nineteenth century legal texts of Thailand. The database of KTSD provided by CSEAS was built by the project “KTSD database” supported by the fund from the “Grants-in-aid of Scientific Research – Database Development- 2004,“ JSPS. The database covers “Computer Concordance of The Law of Three Seals” (5 volumes, 239,576 examples) which was published by CSEAS in 1991.
Databases
You are requested to follow the guidelines below When using CSEAS Databases.
Guidelines for Users of CSEAS Databases
- Copyright to all database and relevant web pages of Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University (CSEAS Database) are the property of the CSEAS.
- “Database” in these guidelines refers to aggregate or partial digital data systematically collected for academic research, education and study and other purposes related to the goals and activities of the CSEAS.
- The duplication, distribution, copying of texts and images from a terminal that has access to the CSEAS database without the explicit permission of the CSEAS director is not allowed.
- The broadcasting, copying and/or printing of any digital data from the CSEAS database to a CD-ROM, DVD and/or VTR without the explicit permission of the CSEAS director are likewise prohibited.
- You are required to cite CSEAS as source of your data in whatever paper or book or any related printed or digitized presentation that comes out as a result of having used the CSEAS Database.
- The database administrator and staff may occasionally suspend and limit access to the CSEAS database without notice, in order to improve its operations and management.
- CSEAS does not assume any responsibility over consequences arising from a user’s use of the CSEAS database.
- The creation of a link to the CSEAS database to a third person’s or party’s webpage or website is allowed.
- Violations and other related activities will be handled by the Information Security Committee, the Information Processing Committee and any other ad hoc committee designated by CSEAS Director.
